Outdoor Life Online Editor

“The Platte, Elkhorn and Niobrara river systems have always been solid deer territories,” says deer biologist Karl Menzel. Mule deer fans should visit the counties of Dawes, Sioux, Sheridan and Frontier. In the CWD unit in northern Sioux County, hunters can purchase one either-sex permit and receive unlimited antlerless tags for free. It will be illegal to hunt within 200 yards of any bait source that is not the result of farming practices.

Contact: NGPC (402-471-0641; www.outdoornebraska.org).


Back to State List